Worship Gathering March 8, 2009

I’m sure I’m not the only one feeling it after the time change. Nikki and I said we were gonna go to bed early last night to compensate for the time change. Well, that didn’t happen. I’m tired.

Today was the last day of the six week long “Vision” series. Our people have been challenged to have a vision in each part of their life. Good stuff.

We’ve recently moved some things around on our stage and added some equipment. We’ve also made an effort to use more loops and click tracks to make sure we’re all growing as musicians, with our timing. The whole team has really done well with the changes and started to gel even more as a team. Thumbs up to everyone.

The Band:

  • Kinsby – Drums
  • Zach – Bass
  • K. Junior – E. Guitar 1
  • Joe – E. Guitar 2
  • Anthony (me) – AC Guitar
  • Craig – Keys/Synth

The Front Line:

  • Evelyn – Sop
  • Gail – Sop
  • Nikki – Alto
  • Yanique – Alto
  • Luis – Tenor

The Set:

  • He Lives (Generations Unleashed) – I put this song in the category of, “If it’s not done right, it will flop”. That said, this song, in the second service, was much better than in the first. It just seemed like the guitars really opened up for this song the 2nd time around. I don’t know if this is the best song to start a set off with but hey, you live and learn.
  • Glorified (New Life) – We used a click track for this one. We actually thought about using one with it at rehearsal but decided not to. On my way home from rehearsal I was kicking myself and really thought we should use a click track for it so I uploaded the track on planningcenter and told the band to give it a listen and we would start our check on Sunday morning with it. If it worked right away we’d use it, if not, we’d scratch it. To my surprise, we were locked in right away and decided to use it. It was great. The sound was so full. Definitely the best we’ve done this song.
  • Hosanna (I See The King) (Brooke Fraser) – Well, sometimes you just do a song too fast, even when you try to slow it down, without a click it’s really hard to break out of that. Even though it was a bit fast, the song was good. Honestly, we’ve done better but what can you do.
  • God Of This City (Tomlin) – We’ve done the chorus of this song before during one of our prayer meetings on the fly. We finally decided to actually arrange the song and learn it the correct way. We used a click track on this song as well. Excellent is all I can say. Great song, great arrangement.
  • You Never Let Go (Redman) – This song has been in our repertoire since it came out. Our people really love this song and really go for it when we pull this one out. I love in the bridge section when it says, “still I will praise You, still I will praise You”. Great end to a good worship set.

This post is part of the worship set discusssion which can be found HERE.

2 Responses to “Worship Gathering March 8, 2009”

  1. Steffanie Oltmans Says:

    I really like “Glorified”! We did it one time and the key was just to low for me to lead comfortably. I need to change the key and try it again 🙂

  2. dorothy (vicar of vibe) Says:

    Well, God of this City seems to be the winning sng this week. Personally I love it!
    Hope you managed to catch up on your sleep.

Leave a Reply

