Sunday Set List For February 22nd 2009

Ok.  So today’s weather has been terrible.  Grey skies and off and on rain is not my idea of great Sunday weather.  It didn’t start out feeling like “one of those days” but not two minutes after walking in the doors of the church it appeared like it was going to be “one of those days”.  Things could have been a lot worse and of course in my mind, being the realist that I am, I thought that I would just have to chalk this day up to being not a great day.  We were introducing the full song, “Came To My Rescue” of which we had only previously done the bridge section, throwing in, “Glorified”, which we introduced to the church last week and ending with an up tempo song that is pretty dependent on two electric guitars.  When I arrived I was informed that one of our electric guitars had gotten sick with some stomach virus on Saturday night.  Yeah, you guessed it, the guitarist who plays all the nice riffs for all three of the afore mentioned songs.  YIKES!!  I quickly called up two guitarist who were not scheduled to play to see if they could fill in.  Yep, you guess it again, neither were able.  I could ramble on all day but I know many of you worship leaders that are reading this have had days like this.  At least we still had one electric and Joe did a great job holding it down all by himself.   We took out two of the songs and actually kept the new one.  Here is the list.

  • Today Is The Day (Lincoln Brewster) Nice opener that we haven’t done in a over a month or two
  • Everlasting God (Brenton Brown) – This has become our “familiar song” to throw in right after an opener that we haven’t done for some time, just so we don’t lose everyone.
  • God of Ages (Hillsong) – We replaced “Glorified” with this one.  Hey, what can I say.  We’ve played it in the ground but last minute, you gotta go with a familiar tune.  I’m sure the church didn’t think a thing about it since we haven’t done it in at least 3 months or more.
  • Came To My Rescue (Hillsong United) – We’ve done the bridge section to this song once before so it wasn’t totally a newbie.  Just add a nice thick pad and piano and you couldn’t even notice the other guitar was missing.  I liked it.  We’ll keep it around too.  The church seemed to pick up on it more easily since the bridge made the entire song seem familiar.
  • How Great Is Our God (Tomlin) – Again, we threw this one in last minute due to the lack of a 2nd electric.  We all know this is a nice song to tie everything up with.  Can’t go wrong with a driving Tomlin ballad-esque song.

The Team looked like this:

Band

  • W.L. – Anthony (me)
  • Drums – Kinsby
  • Bass – Daniel
  • Electric Guitar – Joe
  • Percussion – Ben

Front Line Singers

  • Sop – Evelyn & Gail
  • Alto – Myrtha
  • Ten – Luis

The choir, singers and band were great today at simply rolling with the last minute changes.  I really don’t like changing things last minute but some times it can’t be avoided.  Thank God it didn’t turn out to be “one of those days”.

This post is a part of the worship discussion which can be found here.

4 Responses to “Sunday Set List For February 22nd 2009”

  1. Wow! Great last minute changes! Hopefully next weekend will be a little smoother for you!

  2. Steffanie Oltmans Says:

    We’ve had days like that too. It looks like you made it through just fine. I love the lyrics of God of Ages.

  3. I’ve been thinking about doing “Today Is The Day” for a while now. Thanks for posting your setlist and sharing the behind-the-scenes look at it all. From here, it looks like the day turned out well.

  4. I’ve seen “Rescue” on several playlists today. We’ve never done that song. I’ve heard it. I really like it. Not sure how it’s slipped through the cracks. Going to have to give it a try soon!

Leave a Reply

